Greg Poppleton

27 February Phantom Dancer - Non-stop mix of swing & jazz from live 1920s-60s radio LISTEN

Tin Pan Alley Vol.1

Released 11 October 2019

Download $7CD $12


Tin Pan Alley Vol.1 is a collection of classic songs from the 1902s Jazz Age and 1930s Swing Era sung by Greg Poppleton. 20s 30s Tin Pan Alley Vol.1 is available as a digital download and as a limited edition collector’s CD. Only 50 copies printed. Greg Poppleton has been entertaining for over 25 years. Critics write that Greg’s vocals capture the essence of the 1920s and 1930s with uncanny accuracy. That’s because he’s fell in love with the music at age 3 and has been absorbing the vocal style since childhood. Greg will be releasing two more volumes of his favourite 20s-30s tunes in 2020 and 2021. Look out for them!


[In] Greg’s version of “The Charleston” he holds several syllables in impressive portamento slides. These, with his half-spoken, quivering vibrato, do a lot to refresh an otherwise very well-worn standard; something he achieves again and again with “Five Foot Two Eyes of Blue” and “I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate.”

Dave J Doyle

The Syncopated Times


20s 30s Tin Pan Alley Vol. 1 - Greg-Poppleton


  1. I Wish I Could Shimmy Like My Sister Kate - 2:51
  2. St James Infirmary (re-mix) - 3:08
  3. Happy Days Are Here Again - 3:35
  4. Five Foot Two Eyes of Blue - 1:55
  5. My Canary Has Circles Under His Eyes - 2:54
  6. The Charleston - 2:30
  7. Ain’t She Sweet - 2:36
  8. My Gal Sal - 3:09
  9. Singing in the Bathtub - 2:10

Greg Poppleton: 1920s - 30s vocals / Al Davey: Trumpet and trombone / Paul Furniss: Alto sax and clarinet / Grahame Conlon: Guitar, banjo and ukulele / Geoff Power: Sousaphone / Rod Herbert: Sousaphone (song 6) / Adam Barnard: Washboard and snare / Lawrie Thompson: Drums and washboard (songs 2, 6, 8).


Recording Engineers:: Peter Gage, Paul Mirtschin and Peter O'Malley (Sydney) - Phil Punch and Jem Hoppe (Electric Cave) / Mix: Phil Punch and Jem Hoppe (Electric Cave) / Mastering: Bob Scott (Bob Scott Audio Design and Recording) / Artwork: Michele Tenaglia.

Available now! Get your copy


Keep in touch with the monthly newsletter