Greg Poppleton

21 May - Hear 1940s Jazz Harpsichord on this week's Phantom Dancer LISTEN

Back In Your Own Backyard

Released 31 October 2016

Download $7CD $12

“Backyard is as authentic as can be. Listening is a joy and clear window into the essence of the early jazz era.” Budd Kopman, All About Jazz


Given the knowledge of the era and the authenticity of performance, Poppleton’s latest release, Back In Your Own Backyard is a real delight. It's sure to surprise lovers of early jazz that such is happening Down Under, as well as win over “newbies” to the music ... It would take an extremely jaded heart not to smile and tap your feet, much less dance around the room, to Greg Poppleton.

Budd Kopman

All About Jazz (U.S)



9 O'Clock Special CD


(Commercial radio) - Sydney

Back In Your Own Backyard by Greg Poppleton (album art)


  1. Cake Walkin' Babies From Home - 02:33
  2. Too Marvellous - 03:11
  3. They Didn't Believe Me - 02:49
  4. I'll See You In My Dreams - 02:36
  5. Egyptian Ella - 02:36
  6. Back In Your Own Backyard - 02:25
  7. When My Dreamboat Comes Home - 03:15
  8. Makin' Whoopee! - 03:56
  9. Nobody's Sweetheart - 03:37
  10. Honeysuckle Rose - 03:14
  11. The Lady Is A Tramp - 03:29
  12. Yes, We Have No Bananas! - 02:07

Greg Poppleton: Authentic 1920s - 30s singer / Geoff Power: Sousaphone, Trumpet and Trombone / Paul Furniss: Alto Sax and Clarinet / Grahame Conlon: Spanish Guitar with steel strings / Lawrie Thompson: Drums and Washboard.


Recording Engineers: Rowan Wilson and Gregory Appia / Mix and Mastering: Peter Gage / Downloads Post Mastering: George Stathopoulos / Artwork: Locallure Design.

Available now! Get your copy


Keep in touch with the monthly newsletter